Gas Gas Racing rider Danny McCanney seals round two and three at the 2018 ACU British Timecard Enduro Championship at Helmsley.

After the successful opening round of this year’s ACU British Timecard Enduro Championship in February, the series headed to the picturesque market town of Helmsley, North Yorkshire, for last weekend’s Putoline Yorkshire 2 Day Enduro.

Clerk of the course John Kerwin and the experienced Paul Edmondson and his Fast Eddy crew designed and set up a Cross-Country special test for the event. The host Dirtbike Action club has an established challenging route across the North Yorkshire moors with technical and challenging conditions.

 Tom Sagar BEC rnd2 3 2018 Enduro21 560
Photo Credit: Gemma James

Day one

With weather conditions being warm and conditions dry it was Tom Sagar who set the pace early on in the Championship class to take an eight second lead from series leader Danny McCanney. The pair were closely followed by Joe Wootton, Alex Snow and Jack Edmondson in this world class field of championship riders. 

Test two saw McCanney claw back five seconds from Sagar, while Wootton and Edmondson were on Sagar’s tail in third and fourth. McCanney again took a win on test three, but it was Wootton who took the win on the first of the back-to-back tests on the final lap. 


Joe Wootton BEC rnd2 3 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Gemma James


On the final test of the day Wootton was going for another test win when he took a heavy tumble and was lucky to come away unscathed. That left MCcanney in control for the class win. 

Sagar remained in second while Jack Edmondson took a well-deserved third place ahead of Alex Snow, Tom Ellwood with a career best fifth overall. After his heavy fall on the final test Wotton rounded off the top six while youngster Daniel Mundell took home best E1 two-stroke in seventh and Scotsman Fraser Flockhart in eighth.



In the hotly contested Expert class it was Aaron Gordon who took the well-deserved win, beating Max Ditchfield by 43 seconds. Another great performance saw Ben Murphy take third place from Richard Ely. Luke Flack had to settle for fifth a further two seconds down on Ely, while Harry Hillier Rees completed the top six.


Aaron Gordon 1 BEC helmesley 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Gemma James



A strong performance by Luke Thomas saw him snatch the Clubman class win by 16 seconds from the ever-consistent Harry Houghton. A much-improved ride by Jake Purcell saw him narrowly take third from up and coming youngster Lewis Ranger.

In the Ladies class both Rosie Rowett and Nieve Holmes came out of the first test with matching times but by test two Rosie had pulled a three second lead, which she extended through the day. Chloe Richards completed the podium.

Andrew Edwards is again the man to beat in the competitive Over 40’s class taking yet another win, beating off nearest rival Richard Hay by 26 seconds. Russell Millward took third.

In the Over 50’s Paul Davies put in a sterling shift taking class win by 21 seconds over Jason Rees. The battle for third saw round one winner Julian Oakes pip Paul Armstrong by 44 seconds.

Simon Walker headed the small Sportsman class entry, with Jack Mackley second and Reilly Dennison third.

 Jack Edmondson BEC rnd2 3 2018 Enduro21 560
Photo Credit: Gemma James


Day two

Heavy overnight rain changed conditions but this didn’t slow the pace of the top riders for day two with Danny McCanney starting where he left off taking the win in all of the four special tests. That set McCanney up for maximum points from the weekend. 

Tom Sagar had to settle for the runner-up spot just over a minute down on McCanney but was happy with his riding again while Jack Edmondson was a further 18 seconds down in third. 

Joe Wootton put in another strong performance claiming fourth just four seconds behind Little Ed, with Alex Snow in fifth.  Dan Mundell took sixth ahead of Fraser Flockhart and James Dent finished an impressive eighth.


Dan Mundell BEC Helmesley 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Gemma James



In the Experts class Richard Ely took the class win with a 45 second margin over day one winner Aaron Gordon. Richard Tucker improved, lifting himself to third place with the experienced Luke Flack fourth. Max Ditchfield didn’t have quite such a good day slipping to fifth while Jon Hunt was sixth.


Richard Tucker2 BEC rnd2 3 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Gemma James

Lewis Ranger was the winner of the Clubman class with a very well-deserved win beating Harry Houghton Adams by just over a minute. Joshua Kirby was third just beating day one winner Luke Thomas by 14 seconds. Darren Kiff, James Palmer, Jake Purcell and Ross Kerr completed the top eighth in a tough and competitive class for 2018.

Rosie Rowett is going from strength-to-strength with another strong performance in the Ladies class. Runner-up was Nieve Holmes who kept battling away until the end.

Over 40’s leader Andrew Edwards was in command again on Sunday, eventually beating Russell Millward by a convincing 1m40s. Simon Comer battled to third. 

Paul Davies took maximum points from his weekend’s good work with another win in the over 50’s closely followed by Jason Rees and Stewart Gilchrist.

Lastly but not least Simon Walker was the lone finisher in the Sportsman class.


The overall view from riders and supporters was this was well organised & enjoyable event, well worthy of its BEC status!



2018 ACU British Timecard Enduro Championship:

Round 1 –Sunday 11th February - WitleyEnduro– Witley& District MCC

Rounds 2/3 – Saturday/Sunday 12th/13th May - YorkshireEnduro – Dirtbike Action

Rounds 4/5 – Saturday/Sunday 26th/27th May - ScotlandEnduro – Dirt Bike Evolution

Rounds 6/7 – Saturday/Sunday 7th/8th July - Isle of Man Enduro – Southern MCC

Rounds 8/9 – Saturday/Sunday 25th/26thAugust - RhayaderEnduro – Rhayader MC & LCC Ltd

Round 10/11 – Saturday/Sunday 8th/9th September - REME Enduro – REME



Gemma james british enduro contributor enduro21

Gemma James 
British Enduro Correspondent