Dramatic action on day two of the 2018 Trèfle Lozérien AMV as overnight leader Marc Bourgeois crashes out and Emmanuel Albepart takes control. 


Round three of the World Enduro Super Series is living up to its billing as a Classic Enduro race in the dramatic Lot Valley in southern France. Feeling at home during the morning’s slippery conditions, Bourgeois (Yamaha – Fra) set the fastest time in the opening special test ahead of Albepart (Yamaha – Fra) by just nine thousandths of a second, with top Junior talent Theo Espinasse (Sherco - FRA) a further one-second back in third. 

But the standings were turned on their head following test two when Bourgeois exited the race with an injured leg. Grabbing a test win, Espinasse brought the fight to Albepart who placed third fastest.


emmanuel.albepart WESS 2018 Rnd3 3788 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Future7Media


Back in charge for test three, Albepart pulled a gap on Espinasse who then retaliated levelling the scores in test four. Entering the fifth and final special test it was all to play for but Albepart had enough in hand to secure the day’s overall win and provisionally take control of the race lead heading into Sunday’s final day.

Claiming a stage win, Yamaha’s Julien Gauthier (FRA) was third, with Larrieu regrouping from a poor opening test to finish fourth overall. Enjoying a better day Spain’s Josep Garcia (KTM) was best-placed non-French rider in fifth while WESS championship leader Jonny Walker (KTM - GB) moved to ninth.


josep.garcia WESS 2018 Rnd3 4491 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Future7Media


Sunday, final day's action

The third and final day’s racing sees the 600 riders starting in reverse order with the amateur riders first followed by the Pro class. At the end of the 150-kilometre loop the racing concludes with a motocross final for the top 30 in the overall classification.


action WESS 2018 Rnd3 4565 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Future7Media


Rider quotes from Trèfle Lozérien 2018 day two:

Theo Espinasse (Sherco - FRA): “I’m really happy with how things are going so far. As a Junior rider to be pushing for the overall victory is incredible for me. Day two was strong. I had a good feeling with the bike and didn’t make many mistakes, which was key. I’m looking forward to tomorrow because the top riders start last and so there will be a better racing line. I’ll try to give it my best and win.”


theo.espinasse WESS 2018 Rnd3 2746 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Future7Media


Loic Larrieu (Yamaha - FRA): “It’s been a difficult day for me with some mistakes and just not riding with a good rhythm. After yesterday’s result I think I tried to push too much this morning and was caught out by the slippery tests. I lost too much time on the opening test and wasn’t fast enough on the motocross stage. The start order is reversed for tomorrow so there should be a line cut in for the top riders. I’m not too far off the lead but will have to give maximum effort to win.”

Josep Garcia (KTM - ESP): “Today was much better than yesterday. On day one I pushed too hard in the first liaison section and had a big crash — the bike was quite beaten up. I wasn’t feeling right with the bike and then crashed again in the special test, so the rest of the day was catch up. I started good today — smooth, fast and most importantly with no crashes.”

Johnny Aubert (Gas Gas - FRA): “My day wasn’t as good as day one. I struggled a little with the slippery conditions on the grass during the morning. But I ended it on a high note by winning the final test, so I know my speed is good with just one day of racing left.”


johnny.aubert WESS 2018 Rnd3 3165 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Future7Media



Top 10 Results Day Two:

  1. Emmanuel Albepart (Yamaha - FRA) 17:50.945 
  2. Theo Espinasse (Sherco - FRA) 17:51.132 
  3. Julien Gauthier (Yamaha - FRA) 17:52.872 
  4. Loic Larrieu (Yamaha - FRA) 17:56.210
  5. Josep Garcia (KTM - ESP) 18:02.232 
  6. Johnny Aubert (Gas Gas - FRA) 18:13.484 
  7. Jeremy Miroir (Husqvarna - FRA) 18:19.245
  8. Nathan Watson (KTM - GB) 18:22.379 
  9. Jonny Walker (KTM - GB) 18:24.622 
  10. Pierre Vissac (Beta - FRA) 18:24.866