No mercy from Milner, Sanders, Driscoll and Gardiner bring home 2018 AORC championship titles. 


Round 11 of the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) saw no mercy from the leading contenders who all topped timing sheets to take overall championships this weekend in Omeo, Victoria. 

2018 has been dominated by Milner, Sanders, Driscoll in the main classes and with Jess Gardiner and Geoffrey Ballard both adding to their considerable trophy cabinets in a vintage AORC season. 

Any thought of any of them taking their foot off the gas to see the season out was quickly put to bed as they each took class in the day one Sprint races before seeing their season out with wins on the Cross-Country races on Sunday.


E3 class

Daniel Milner has simply been on another level in the E3 class on his KTM in 2018. Clocking fastest times overall all season in different track conditions proves his skills are a step above. Win was number eleven for Milner means he has completed the perfect E3 season.

Finishing behind Milner aboard his Husqvarna was Lachlan Stanford after a consistent season. In the tricky conditions at Omeo, Stanford tried everything he could including being one of the only riders clearing a double jump, but still couldn’t find the speed of Milner.

Rounding out the podium in the E3 class was Andrew Wilksch who put in a solid performance on his Sherco this season. 


Milner AORC 2018 final Omeo Enduro21 560


E3 Provisional Results:

  1. Daniel Milner 225
  2. Lachlan Stanford 189
  3. Andrew Wilksch 149
  4. Thomas Mason 146
  5. Broc Grabham 146


E2 class

Completing the perfect season in the E2 class, Daniel Sanders led the way again in Omeo. Sanders got off to a great start in the first test of the Saturday Sprint races and continued to push throughout the day despite the track deteriorating. The win shows the decision to come home from Enduro GP was the correct one, as he brought home the title for Husqvarna.

The battle for second place in the E2 class at rounds 10/11 was enthralling between KTM’s Lyndon Snodgrass and Yamaha’s Josh Green. The pair have traded podium places all season long but it would be Snodgrass who finally took the runners-up spot.

The ever reliable Green would have to settle for third place on the day in Omeo. Green was one of the only riders throughout the day who looked in control through the rough conditions, and ended his season on the podium.


Sanders AORC 2018 Enduro21 560


E2 Provisional Results:

  1. Daniel Sanders 225
  2. Lyndon Snodgrass 186
  3. Joshua Green 168
  4. Stefan Granquist 149
  5. Matt Murry 119


E1 class

What a year it has been for Luke Styke after making the step from motocross to off-road in 2018. Styke has looked completely at home picking up the E1 title on day one in Omeo before adding another win to make it nine this season. 

Finishing behind Styke was Fraser Higlett aboard his Husqvarna, who has shown great improvement during his first season in the E1 class to become vice-champion for 2018. Higlett ended his season with a time of 45:35.297 to end a great first season in E1. Rounding out the championship podium was Jack Simpson.


Styke AORC 2018 Enduro21 560


E1 Provisional Results:

  1. Luke Styke 225
  2. Fraser Higlett 192
  3. Jack Simpson 158
  4. Jeremy Carpentier 156
  5. Brad Hardaker 137


Enduro Junior

The 2018 EJ champion Michael Driscoll was another rider who could not have achieved morein the AORC series. Driscoll won all 11 rounds in EJ for the perfect season. Driscoll set the tone on his Yamaha from the first test of the day, getting out of the blocks with a sensational first test in Omeo. 

Husqvarna’s Joshua Brierley finished his first senior season on the podium ahead of Corey Hammond.


Driscoll AORC 2018 Enduro21 560


EJ Provisional Results:

  1. Michael Driscoll 225 points
  2. Joshua Brierley 190
  3. Corey Hammond 152
  4. Mitchell Brierley 139
  5. Harrison Teed 136


Ballard’s the Master

In a career that has seen him achieve a lot, you can now add the 2018 AORC Master’s title to the list for Geoff Ballard. Ballard looked like the championship winner entering the final round and with victory on day one in Omeo he added another title to the long list. Craig Treasure finished second with Michael Widdison third. 


Ballard AORC 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: John Pearson Media


More information: