podium prestige championship SuperEnduro 2017 Rnd 4 02I9095 1200

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn/Future7Media

Colton Haaker has won the 2017 FIM Maxxis SuperEnduro World Championship at the final round of the season on France.

Successfully defending his title, the American put his Husqvarna on the top step of the championship podium for the second year in a row.

  • Colton Haaker wins the 2017 SuperEnduro World Championship.
  • Alfredo Gomez won the Prestige class overall in France.
  • Blake Gutzeit is the new SuperEnduro Junior World Champion.
  • Travis Teasdale claimed a debut Junior class overall victory.
  • Mike Hartmann is the European Cup champion.
  • It was a full house in France, with the arena sold out.

It was a night of celebration for South Africa, with Yamaha mounted Blake Gutzeit winning the SuperEnduro Junior World Championship, while in the European Cup the night and the title belonged to German Mike Hartmann (Husqvarna).

Securing his second consecutive overall podium, KTM’s Alfredo Gomez was the victor in the GP AMV of France Prestige class, while Travis Teasdale (KTM) of South Africa claimed a debut overall in the Junior category.


husqvarna SuperEnduro 2017 Rnd 4 02I9153 1200

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn/Future7Media

“Amazing — absolutely incredible to have won my second world title,” told Haaker. “It’s been a great season, there’s been some fantastic battles at every round, so to come away with the #1 plate is fantastic for myself, my family, my mechanic Josh and of course Husqvarna.”

For Gutzeit, the GP AMV of France in Albi, was also a night to saviour when he claimed his debut world crown.

“It’s a dream come true for me,” told Gutzeit. “I’ve worked so hard for this for so long. To become a world champion is an amazing feeling and one that’s not yet really sunk in. It’s going to take some time getting used to that.”


blake.gutzeit SuperEnduro 2017 Rnd 4 02I8763 1200

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn/Future7Media

Kicking things off inside the packed to capacity Exhibition Centre of Alibi it was KTM’s Jonny Walker who once again secured the Akrapovic SuperPole, setting the fastest lap time around the demanding course. His SuperPole win in France also earned him the overall Akrapovic SuperPole title.

With just 11 points separating Haaker and Gomez in the title fight, everything was still to play for when the gate dropped in Prestige heat one. However it was Walker who put his KTM out front and managed to secure a comfortable win. Haaker crossed the line in second while Gomez was third.

The reversed start for heat two saw Gomez work his way to the front to take the win. Mistakes in the Motorex Oils Rock Garden held Walker back to an eventual third with Haaker once again picking up second. 

Holding a small points buffer entering the final heat, Haaker had the advantage. Gomez was determined to end his night on a high and claimed his second victory of the night to take the overall win. Walker raced his way to second, with Haaker — content in third —crossed the finish line to become world champion.


alfredo.gomez SuperEnduro 2017 Rnd 4 02I8786 1200

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn/Future7Media

With Gomez, Walker and Haaker placing 1-2-3 on the night, 2016 SuperEnduro Junior World Champion Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM) delivered his best showing of the season for a very impressive fourth overall thanks to two fourth place results in heats one and two. 

Sherco’s Mario Roman ended his night fifth overall with Mike Brown (Husqvarna) completing the top six.

In the Junior class the night ultimately belonged to Gutzeit with the South African claiming his first world title. But it was fellow countryman Teasdale who took the top step of the podium thanks to his 2-3-1 race results.


colton.haaker SuperEnduro 2017 Rnd 4 02I9004 1200

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn/Future7Media

Frenchman Max Vial had the 4,000 strong crowd on their feet when he delivered a win in heat two to eventually place second overall. Helped in part by his opening heat race win, Gutzeit also ended his night third overall.

Czech rider David Cyprian (KTM) was fourth while Chile’s Ben Herrera (TM) completed the top five.

In the European class Mike Hartmann (Husqvarna) proved unbeatable as he raced his way to a double victory and the European Cup title. 


Results - SuperEnduro World Championship, Round 4

SuperEnduro World Championship results 1



SuperEnduro World Championship results 2



SuperEnduro World Championship results 3