Cody Webb wins the final EnduroCross race of 2018 season but second place finish is enough for Colton Haaker to win the overall championship.


Colton Haaker has won his second AMA EnduroCross championship with a second place finish at the final round in Boise. Cody Webb did everything he could to hang onto his number one plate by taking the win in front of another large and enthusiastic crowd on the night but second was enough to give Haaker the 2018 crown. 

“I just wanted to bring it home here and I’m so happy we did.” Said Colton after the race. “It’s amazing to come back and win the EnduroCross title again after losing it. It wasn’t easy coming back from not winning and gaining the confidence to get back up to the front.”


Haaker cranks it up in the heats

Haaker started the day by taking the fastest hot lap time just a tenth of a second faster than Webb and then kept the momentum going in the first heat race by taking the win and bonus point ahead of Tremaine.

In heat two, Webb took the win and matched Haaker with the bonus point. GasGas backed Noah Kepple finished a strong second. 

The bracket races were up next for the top four riders from each of the two heat races going head-to-head. Haaker and Webb moved through the brackets to face off for a bonus point and first gate pick for the main. Webb took the lead out of the first turn and led about half of the lap before he pushed too hard into a sand turn and went down. This handed the win and bonus point to Haaker.


Haaker Heat EnduroCross Enduro21 560


Main event win for Webb

Cullins blasted his Beta 300 two-stroke to the front at the start of the main event, just ahead of Haaker and Webb. The two championship combatants moved past Cullins, who had troubles and dropped back to ninth by the end of the first lap. Haaker led the first two laps and Webb jumped a huge log double to close right up to his back wheel and then made a pass for the lead on lap three.

Webb kept jumping the large double to open a gap on Haaker, who was riding a conservative race to clinch the championship. Haaker made it through the No Joke Lane on lap nine of fifteen and the only drama remaining for Webb was to make it through the No Joke Lane himself without losing time. Webb did that on lap eleven and went on for his third win of the season.


Cody Webb Haaker EnduroCross 2018 Enduro21 560


Tremaine nails third overall

The battle for third in the race and championship between Tremaine and Redmond was intense. Redmond came into the race with a single point lead over Tremaine so whichever rider finished in front of the other would take the spot. Tremaine quickly worked up from eighth position on lap one to lock into a battle with Redmond. They traded third a few times before Tremaine opened a gap in the closing laps. Redmond held on for fourth position in the race and championship.


Ty Tremaine EnduroCross 2018 Enduro21 560


Fifth place went to Cullins, who recovered from his tough first lap. The strong finish also earned Cullins the Junior EnduroCross championship, which is a championship within a championship for riders twenty-one and under. The nineteen-year-old also finished the season in sixth place.

Aaron finished the race in sixth to cap off a solid season that ended up with him earning fifth in the championship, just a single point ahead of Cullins. For Aaron, a former main event winner who has raced most of the EnduroCross events since the first one in 2004, this was his best season in several years.

SRT-Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder finished seventh in only his third race back after a serious ankle injury. Beta’s Gerston finished eighth in only his second race back from a hand injury. Kepple finished ninth after battling with a large group of riders for the fifth spot. Abbott rounded the top ten on his RPM Team Maxxis KTM.


Ty Cullins Endurocross 2018 Enduro21 840



What the riders said:

Colton Haaker: “This whole season it’s been Cody (Webb) and I going back-and-forth and the championship really came down to a few key moments, like the halfway point in the season when we’re tied, and I knew what we had to do to win. For me, I think last weekend in Everett was the championship night. I knew if I could win there I could win the title. I never won in Everett before that, so I think I made it happen there. Tonight, I got a great start and rode clean and smooth and Cody passed me and got a bit of a gap. He was riding really solid tonight and taking some extra risks that I didn’t have to.”

Cody Webb: “The season and my riding were good despite how little prep time I had coming in. I got the win at round one in Prescott and that was just really lucky. Even by Costa Mesa I only had a couple 12-minute motos in me before the race. I just fell apart in the main and couldn’t hold on. The rest of the year I focused on getting back to doing full motos in training. That had me riding better and by Denver, things got really aggressive and I couldn’t seem to keep up the intensity there. So, I started doing more bracket-style training, riding as hard as I could go. I felt like a steam engine this year. I started out sluggish and kept throwing more fuel to the fire and, by the end of the year, I was back to full-steam ahead. Losing the championship is a bummer but it’s nice to cap of the season with a big win here in Idaho like this. I was doing stuff on the track no one else was doing and it was fun to win the crowd over by jumping big stuff. Now, it’s off to get my arm pump under control and SuperEnduro prep.”

Ty Tremaine: “The season started off great with the Alta electric bike. They were putting in a lot of effort with me and the EnduroCross program and they, unfortunately, closed up shop. So, I’m really lucky Beta took a chance with me and I just tried to keep my head down and not let anything get to me so there really isn’t a reason I shouldn’t have performed on any bike. Going into the off-season I’m working really hard. I’m really happy about where we’re going from here.”

Ty Cullins: “I’ve been working super hard all year. My main goal was to get top fives and, about halfway through the season, I was in the lead for the Junior Championship and I focused on that as the goal for the year. It’s just been a great year. I finished top-five in half the races, I shared the holeshot tonight with Colton Haaker and I am just looking forward to getting the details for next year dialed in and come back better than ever.”


2018 Boise, Idaho AMA EnduroCross main event results:

  1. Cody Webb, KTM
  2. Colton Haaker, Husqvarna
  3. Ty Tremaine, Beta
  4. Kyle Redmond, Husqvarna
  5. Ty Cullins, Beta
  6. Geoff Aaron, GasGas
  7. Cory Graffunder, Husqvarna
  8. Max Gerston, Beta
  9. Noah Kepple, GasGas
  10. Cooper Abbott, KTM
  11. Mason Ottersberg, Beta
  12. Dustin McCarthy, Yamaha
  13. Nick Thompson, KTM
  14. Keith Sweeten, KTM


2018 AMA Super EnduroCross Class Championship Points:

  1. Colton Haaker, Husqvarna. 150
  2. Cody Webb, KTM. 146
  3. Ty Tremaine, Beta. 100
  4. Kyle Redmond, Husqvarna. 99
  5. Geoff Aaron, GasGas. 90
  6. Ty Cullins, Beta. 89
  7. Noah Kepple, GasGas. 83
  8. Cooper Abbott, KTM. 76
  9. Mason Ottersberg, Beta. 55
  10. Dustin McCarthy, Yamaha. 53


More information:

Photo Credit: Tanner Yeager