Kacy Martinez and Shelby Turner take Women’s EnduroCross title right to the wire at final round in Boise.


FMF KTM’s Kacy Martinez came into the Boise final with a three-point lead over AE Racing backed Shelby Turner in the Women’s class. 

Two-time defending champion Turner knew if she won the race in Boise on Saturday she would tie the points and take the championship with the final race finishing position being the tie-breaker decider. 

It was Martinez who took the lead at the start but Turner made a block pass to take the position about halfway through the first lap. Martinez then passed Turner back on the next lap with a similar block pass in the same corner leading into the Matrix. 


Kacy Martinez EnduroCross 2018 Enduro21 560


A lap later, both riders had trouble in the wood pit and were bar-to-bar as they both pushed their bikes to get going. Martinez came out with the lead and held the position for the remaining two laps to take the win and her first EnduroCross Championship. Beta’s Morgan Tanke finished third in the race and the championship.

“I put a lot of effort into this series this year,” said Martinez after the race. “It’s the last National Championship I had to win before I won all the major off-road series titles in the United States. 

“Last week I was thinking back to how much I’ve put into this sport and, every series I’ve committed to, I’ve come away with the number one plate. So, I’m very happy about that.

“Coming into the first round this year I won and then I struggled a few races, so I went down to KTM’s track and I just put in a lot of work with Antti and the team. They pushed me really hard and we got it done. I’m very happy to win those last three rounds and get this title.”

Martinez won the championship with 122 points over Shelby Turner who earned 116. Tanke was third with 91. Allie Dorsey and Monique Johnson rounded out the top five for the season.


Vets podium abbott EnduroCross 2018 Enduro21 560


Vets win for Destry Abbott

Destry Abbott won the Vet class main event at the weekend in Boise, to seal the championship. Remarkably, the forty-six-year-old was still undergoing chemotherapy treatments up until a few weeks before the final but still managed to win all six races. David Stirm finished second at the Boise event and Jon Seehorn rounded out the podium. Dan Hayakawa and Craig Thompson finished the season in second and third in the Vet class championship.

Idaho’s David Kamo won the Open Amateur class in Boise and the championship for the season. Josh Bridge and Branden Petrie rounded out the top three in Boise. For the series, James Flynn and Gavin McCarthy rounded out the top three.   


Amatuer podium EnduroCross 2018 Enduro21 560


In the Amateur B class, Sam King took the win ahead of Tyler Smith and Noah Tidball.   

Richard Larsen and Coleman Johnson battled back and forth for the TrialsCross class win in Boise. Larsen came away with the win but Johnson, who is just thirteen years old, finished second and won the TrialsCross season championship. Hayden Simmons rounded out the Boise TrialsCross podium.


Trialscross podium EnduroCross 2018 Enduro21 560


The Boise event also included a special class for the local SIDRA club riders. Kody Bill took the win over Austin Paden and Rocky Butler. 


After a strong season with packed arenas and exciting racing, the EnduroCross team is looking forward to 2019. The 2019 series schedule will be confirmed in the coming months. 

More information: endurocross.com


The final round highlights are broadcast on beIN Sports this Thursday, November 8, 9pm EST. 

Visit: beinsports.com


Photo Credit: Tanner Yeager