Steve Holcombe has made history by winning the Mika Ahola ‘Brave One’ trophy for the second consecutive year in the World Enduro Championship.


The ‘Brave One’ award, established in the honour of enduro legend Mika Ahola, is given to the rider accumulating the fastest times in the enduro tests throughout the season, at different GPs, in different terrain. 

Holcombe took the double win on the X-Rocks Enduro Test at the French GP last weekend, his fifth consecutive victory and his seventh of the 2018 season. Wrapping the 2018 award up with a round still to go also meant Holcombe is the only rider since the award was established in 2012 to take back-to-back wins.

Alex Salvini will finish second ahead of Brad Freeman, currently third fastest on the enduro tests in 2018. Jamie McCanney, Eero Remes and Loïc Larrieu can all still claim third place however, if Bradley has any slip-ups at the final GP in Germany, October 12-14.

Holcombe’s performances in the enduro tests show his domination over two consecutive seasons is a strong aspect of this sport and Steve’s riding – just like the legend that was Mika Ahola. 


Provisional 2018 ‘Brave One’ trophy classification: 

  1. Steve Holcombe 193pts  
  2. Alex Salvini 135pts  
  3. Brad Freeman 124pts  
  4. Jamie McCanney 114pts 
  5. Eero Remes 110pts 
  6. Loïc Larrieu 109pts 
  7. Christophe Nambotin 92pts 
  8. Matteo Cavallo 87pts 
  9. Danny McCanney 76pts
  10. Thomas Oldrati 63pts


Photo Credit: Future7Media/Jonty Edmunds


jon.pearson enduro21 april 2017

Jon Pearson
Enduro21 Editor and Bike Tester