red bull minas riders 2017 alfredo gomez 2 1200

Photo Credit: Fabio Piva

KTM’s Alfredo Gomez claimed first blood with a win in the Red Bull Minas Riders prologue.

Starting the defence of his Red Bull Minas Riders crown, Gomez delivered a clinical performance in the rain-soaked prologue in Ouro Perto to top the podium and take an early lead in the race.

“That was hard work,” told Gomez. “The rain made conditions massively challenging. The logs and cobbled streets were so slippery that we were fighting for grip the whole way round. I’m glad I got the job done, without mistakes and can start day one in the mountains third.”

Offering Gomez his closest challenge, Graham Jarvis put in a smart and calculated ride to take second. Knowing that there’s a long road ahead of him in Brazil, the Husqvarna rider hardly put a foot out of place following Gomez home for the runner-up result.

“It was about being smart tonight in the rain,” admitted Jarvis. “I didn’t want to crash so I kept it safe and steady. I’m happy with second and already thinking about tomorrow.”

Making his Hard Enduro Rallye debut, Cody Webb was the guy many expected to give Gomez a run for his money. But the two-time AMA EnduroCross champion hit the deck twice and lost ground to the leading duo, ultimately settling for third.


red bull minas riders 2017 alfredo gomez 1200

Photo Credit: Marcelo Maragni

With a reversed start order for the top three, Webb will be the first rider to lead the field out into the mountains.

With the rain causing havoc, Paul Bolton finished two laps down on Webb for third.

Beta’s Pol Tarres chased Bolton across the line to complete the top five, while Philipp Scholz rounded out the top six.

In the Sliver class there was a win for Romulo Bottrel finishing a lap clear of Felippe Knapp nd Renan Tonon.

Gustavo Furlaneto claimed the Bronze class win.

Competitors now get down to the serious end of business with the first offroad day of four awaiting.


red bull minas riders 2017 alfredo gomez 1 1200

Photo Credit: Marcelo Maragni

Results — Red Bull Minas Riders Prologue

1. Alfredo Gomez (KTM) 19 laps

2. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna) 18 laps

3. Cody Webb (KTM) 18 laps

4. Paul Bolton (KTM) 16 laps

5. Pol Tarres (Beta) 16 laps

6. Philipp Scholz (KTM) 13 laps

7. Gustavo Pellin (KTM) 10 laps

8. Rigo Rico (KTM) 6 laps

9. Sandra Gomez (Husqvarna) 5 laps

10. Bruno Crivilin (KTM) 5 laps



 robert lynn enduro21 enduro 1000

Robert Lynn