wade.young red bull sea to sky 2017 7M 0853

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn / Future7Media

Sherco's Wade Young has clinched his third Red Bull Sea to Sky Forest Race win in a row. Second place went to KTM’s Jonny Walker, with Beach Race winner, Husqvarna’s Billy Bolt taking third.

Moving from the beach to the hills, the Red Bull Sea to Sky saw competitors get their first taste of true Turkish enduro terrain with the Forest Race as they circled the foothills of the Olympos Mountain. The forest course was made up of approximately 50km of single-track, gravel roads and tricky climbs.

All of the top-30 riders from Thursday's Beach Race were separated by one-minute intervals, so it was day one winner, Billy Bolt who was first away. Next on the course was Jonny Walker, who pushed hard from the off to chase down his fellow Brit, with Alfredo Gomez (KTM) in tow.


water splash red bull sea to sky 2017 02I8806

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn / Future7Media

It was Wade Young’s day however, seemingly unstoppable in the Kemer forest. Young set off 10th due to his finishing position in the previous day’s Beach Race.

His pace was good from the start and he had soon caught and passed the two riders in front of him. Riding well and looking comfortable on the bike, the South African crossed the line nearly two minutes ahead of Walker on corrected time.

“I’m really pleased with my riding today,” told Young. “I found a comfortable pace early on and just flowed with the course. I managed to catch up with Lars Enockl and David Cyprian in front and they let me past which was really cool. I didn’t break my rhythm and was able to push on to the finish.

“I’m looking forward to the Mountain Race. I feel good, really good and feel like I’m in with a good chance this year.”


action red bull sea to sky 2017 7M 1170

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn / Future7Media

Behind Young, it was Walker who claimed the runner-up result. Bolt, who started first on the road, remained close to Walker during the second half of the loop to complete the top three.

With Graham Jarvis setting off from fifth position, it only took a couple of checkpoints for him to catch and pass Pol Tarrés (Beta), who had set off fourth.

Jarvis crossed the line in fourth position, to end his race fourth overall on corrected time, placing one minute clear of 2016 overall winner Lars Enöckl (KTM), who completed the top five.

A steady ride from Alfredo Gomez (KTM) saw him come home in sixth with David Cyprian (KTM) slotting into seventh.

With the 10 places open to riders on the front row for the Mountain Race, Mario Roman (Sherco), Paul Bolton (KTM) and Tarres complete those aiming for the holeshot.


mario.roman red bull sea to sky 2017 7M 0720

Photo Credit: Robert Lynn / Future7Media

The Red Bull Sea to Sky concludes with the Mountain Race on Saturday September 30.

Provisional Results — Red Bull Sea to Sky Forest Race

  1. Wade Young, ZAF, Sherco, 1:33:19
  2. Jonny Walker, GBR, KTM, 1:35:12
  3. Billy Bolt, GBR, Husqvarna, 1:36:31
  4. Graham Jarvis, GBR, Husqvarna, 1:37:16
  5. Lars Enöckl, AUT, KTM, 1:38:36
  6. Alfredo Gomez, ESP, KTM, 1:39:12

Related stories


gez morrison bio enduro21 800
Gez Morrison
Staff Writer