Sprint format spicing up The Tough One Extreme Enduro this weekend

The Tough One Hard Enduro next stop on the early season European Extreme Enduro calendar – new, sprint ‘Time Trial’ format set to boost rider and spectator experience. 


A fresh look at the Extreme and Hard Enduro format by The Tough One organisers, WOR Events, will see the 13th running of this notorious event switch to a sprint-style, time trial (TT) races this weekend.

The TT format will see riders from all classes race extreme enduro sprint special tests. Each class of ability will have a certain number of target laps to complete and the fastest times decide the results. 

It’ll bring an exciting twist to the event for riders as much as spectators who are more used to seeing the 2.5 or 3 hour race format.

There’s more. The event concludes with a “Fist Full Of Dollars” Super Final Race pitching the top six riders from the Time Trial races in a three lap race, on a shorter, more spectator-friendly mini lap of the quarry (with a challenging hill climb thrown in for good measure). The winner takes the chequered flag on completion of their third lap and the fist full of cash from race boss, Steve Ireland.

Impressive roll of honour at the Tough One:

2005 – David Knight

2006 – David Knight

2007 – David Knight

2008 – David Knight

2009 – Taddy Blazuziak

2010 – David Knight

2011 – Graham Jarvis

2012 – Graham Jarvis

2013 – Graham Jarvis

2014 – David Knight

2015 – Jonny Walker

2016 – Graham Jarvis

2017 – NO EVENT

2018 – Graham Jarvis


graham.jarvis Tough One 2018 Enduro21 560


Riders competing this weekend include all three of the above with David Knight debuting the Suzuki RM-Z450 in hard enduro and going for seven wins at this event. Jarvis is clearly on a role in 2019 with early season wins at Ales Trem last weekend and before that the British Extreme enduro round. 

Jonny Walker, Paul Bolton, Travis Teasedale will be joined by Michele Bosi from Italy and the host of British talent – Jono Richardson, Owain and Gethin Humphreys, Charlie Frost, Sam Winterburn, James Dent and Grant Thomson among others. 


Event details:

Spectators £15 p/p – 1 person in a vehicle will pay £30 (single person, single vehicle levy – bring a mates!).
OAPs £10 – 

Under 7s free – 

8 to 14yrs - £10

Location: Nant Mawr Quarry SY10 9HJ – 

Times: The morning Sprints, thrills and spills starts at 9am for the Clubman and novice riders.
The PRO and Expert Main Michelin Tough One TT starts at 12.30pm. 

The Grand Finale “Fist Full Of Dollars” Super Final Race will run approx. 4.10pm

Photo Credit: WOR Events/Future7Media
Byline jp ISDE 2018 Enduro21
Jon Pearson
Enduro21 Editor and Bike Tester