" "
Australian Teams announced for ISDE 2019 in Portugal

Motorcycling Australia has announced the riders and teams to contest the 2019 International Six Days Enduro in Portimao, Portugal on November 11-16.


Team Australia will be looking to repeat the success of last year’s dominant victory at the International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) in Chile, with a blend of that experience in the World Trophy Team, an unchanged Women’s Trophy Team going for seven in a row, plus a re-jig of riders in the Junior Trophy Teams. 

Outright ISDE World Champions in the World Trophy and Women’s World Trophy categories, the Aussies put on a show for other nations to follow in the Chile dust. The three teams racing this year in Portugal will compete with over 30 nations across the six days of racing on November 11-16 in the region surrounding the Algarve coastal town of Portimao.


daniel.milner ISDE 2018 Enduro21 560


2019 Australian World Trophy Team:

Joshua Green
Daniel Milner
Daniel Sanders
Luke Styke

2019 Australian Women’s World Trophy Team:

Jessica Gardiner
Tayla Jones
Mackenzie Tricker

2019 Australian Junior World Trophy Team:

Michael Driscoll
Wil Ruprecht
Lyndon Snodgrass

Team Manager:

Don Atkins

daniel.sanders ISDE 2018 560

World Trophy Team the ones to watch

Last year’s overall ISDE champion, Daniel Milner, naturally returns again in 2019 to head the World Trophy team. Looking at his dominance in the Australian Championship this season we have no reason to expect anything less than the same form in Portugal.

Daniel Sanders will also feature heavily in the Aussie team, just as he did alongside Milner in 2018. Chucky looks to be upping his game in further in 2019 so far and has been mixing enduro with motocross and desert races this year and is aiming to go one better than runner-up in Chile. 

Styke AORC 2019 dungog 560 1

The other two riders in the Trophy team are Joshua Green and Luke Styke. Joshua and Luke are Yamaha teammates in the AORC championship which will no doubt be a positive in the team for Portugal. Luke is also the only Australian to have won an Australian Motocross, Supercross and AORC title. 

Notable absentee in the Trophy Team is Josh Strang which has caused some controversy. The US-based racer has represented team Oz six times now and in some quarters at least, deserved a place to defend the Trophy.

By their own admission, the dry and often powder dusty conditions in Chile last year suited the Aussies. We await to see exactly how the 2019 Portuguese tests will pan out but with no shortage of experience staging EnduroGP events across the country (check last weekend’s GP terrain) we have a good idea what to expect: mostly dry and hard-pack MX tests and rocky extreme tests. Portugal has its greenery though and we’re hoping for a broad range of riding conditions this year.

tayla.jones ISDE 2018 05160 Enduro21 560

Women’s Trophy Team going for seventh win

The unbeatable Australian Women’s World Trophy team returns unchanged for ISDE 2019 – rivals beware! Looking for their seventh title in a row with the philosophy of it ain’t broke so why try to fix it, Motorcycling Australia announces Tayla Jones, Jessica Gardiner and Mackenzie Tricker. 

ISDE 2019 Australian juniors 560

Juniors blending experience and EnduroGP experience

Bucking the trend in the senior and women’s teams, the Junior Trophy Team has a new look for Portugal with Michael Driscoll, Will Ruprecht and Lyndon Snodgrass. 

Driscoll is the current AORC EJ champion and is now racing in the E1 class where he is achieving some strong results as he moves his shoulders in-line with the speed of Milner and Sanders. 

Ruprecht is now a regular in the EnduroGP championship and issuing a serious challenge to the Junior overall championship. His strength in the team will surely be having raced the European tests in GPs and not least the recent EnduroGP of Portugal where he finished second overall in Juniors.  

will.ruprecht EnduroGP 2019 ISDE 560

Snodgrass returns for a third year in a row but this time he switches from the Trophy team back to the Juniors. He will use his experience at the ISDE to support his teammates to the Junior Trophy. 

Don Atkins continues as the team manager, a decision that seems quite logical after the success he has brought to the team the past ISDE editions.


More information on the Motorcycle Australia website: www.ma.org.au


Photo credit: Future7Media/Andrea Belluschi + John Pearson
igor aguada bio resized
Igor Aguado
Enduro21 Junior Editor