Italy’s Paolo Ceci led the Africa Eco Race field of riders to Dakar claiming victory in the 10th edition of the race.

With the starting point of Monaco a distant memory, competitors arrived to the iconic Lac Rose in Dakar, Senegal following more than 6,000 kilometres.

All participants left the final bivouac before sunrise to join the start of a final stage. 


africa eco race 2018 enduro21 1

Photo Credit: Rally Cool!

Lac Rose

After 230 kilometres of liaison, it was on the beach shores of Lac Rose where they started the final 22 kilometres. 

A final boost to celebrate the end of the competition before taking the podium to end this 10th Africa Eco Race. 

Reward for some, deliverance for others, this last day was celebrated in the middle of a crowd where locals and the entourage of some competitors came to enjoy the show. 

Enjoying a celebratory ride of honour, Ceci rode his way into the record books as this year’s champion.

Excelling in his debut rally, Portugal’s Luis Oliveria followed Ceci home for the runner-up result with Rui Oliveira third overall.

africa eco race 2018 enduro21 3
Photo Credit: Rally Cool!

Blackburn, first of the "malle-motos"

There were nine to embark on the adventure in "malle-motos". These riders who receive no assistance but just a trunk transported by the organisation are often those who sleep the least on the bivouac. 

Thus they find every night the minimum necessary to reach Dakar and are left to themselves to take care of their mechanics. 

africa eco race 2018 enduro21 2

Photo Credit: Rally Cool!

Among them, Jonathan Blackburn (GBR / KTM) achieves the best performance by taking the fifth place. This morning he was relieved to finish and was especially eager to recover with a good night's sleep.

Nathan Rafferty (USA / KTM) finished just behind but won the title in the veteran category.


africa eco race 2018 enduro21 4

Photo Credit: Rally Cool!

Africa Eco Race Overall

Car:  1. Mathieu Serradori / Fabian Lurquin n°202 (FRA)  2. Vladimir Vasilyev / Konstantin Zhiltsov n°201 (RUS)  3. Pascal Thomasse / Pascal Larroque n°206 (FRA) 

Bike:  1. Paolo Ceci n°101 (ITA)  2. Luis Miguel Anjos Oliveira n°114 (POR)  3. Rui Oliveira n°115 (POR) 

Truck:  1. Gerard De Rooy / Darek Rodewald / Moi Torrellardona n°400 (NDL)  2. Tomas Tomecek n°401 (CZE)  3. Johannes Van De Laar / Ben Van De Laar / Adolphus Huijgens n°406 (NDL)



robert lynn enduro21 enduro 1000

Robert Lynn
Enduro21 Editor