Dakar Rally results: Stage 9 stalemate, Metge wins for Sherco

Results from stage nine of the 2019 Dakar Rally – top riders sandbag leaving Toby Price to remain overall leader and Sherco to claim a Dakar stage win.


Stage nine of the Dakar Rally saw another mass-start, though this time bikes set-off together and that is pretty much how the lead riders remained through the day.

Toby Price, Pablo Quintanilla Matthias Walkner and Jose Cornejo all finished within two seconds of each other. 30 seconds back Andrew Short, Kevin Benavides then shortly after Luciano Benavides and Xavier De Soultrait all crossed the line.

The story is there was plenty of sand-bagging on this the penultimate stage with no rider wanting to lead out the decisive last day of the rally. 

Ignoring all of that and taking his chance to shine in the Peruvian desert was Miki Metge who blitzed the field to take his maiden victory, two minutes clear of Daniel Nosiglia who also threw caution to the wind.

Another rider to fall foul of the engine gremlins today was Adrien Van Beveren. The Frenchman had been in podium contention all Dakar but his Yamaha engine let go 16km from the finish.

Earlier in the day news emerged that both Sam Sunderland and Kevin Benevides had been docked one hour and three hours respectively for technical infringements on stage eight – Sunderland for an issue with his Iritrack system causing a delay to his start and Benavides for reportedly writing/carrying notes external to his road book. 

Both riders claim their innocence, the organisers claim rules are rules. In the end sport is not the winner though it seems as two lead riders are ruled out of contention with one stage remaining. 


2019 Dakar Rally stage nine results:

Dakar Rally results Stage9 Enduro21

Dakar Rally results2 Stage9 Enduro21

Overall ranking after nine stages:

Dakar Rally Overall results Stage9 Enduro21

Photo Credit: RallyZone
Byline jp ISDE 2018 Enduro21
Jon Pearson
Enduro21 Editor and Bike Tester