Results: Toby Price wins Dakar Rally 2019

Results from the Dakar Rally 2019 where Australian Toby Price has taken overall victory with the final stage win more than two minutes clear of his rivals – Quintanilla crashes out of contention.


The 2019 Dakar Rally came right down to the final stage and a dual for the victory between Australian, Toby Price and Chilean, Pablo Quintanilla. With just over 100km to cover and with a gap of one minute to overcome, Quintanilla had to attack the stage to take victory. 

But it was to be no fairy tale win for the South American as he landed heavily off a blind dune after just 10km of stage 10 leaving Price, riding with a broken wrist, home and dry to win that famous golden trophy for the second time.

Price blitzed stage 10 to finish 2m21s clear of the Jose Cornejo. Just to be clear, that’s some balls with a broken scaphoid. 

The downer for Quintanilla following his fall was a positive for Matthias Walkner who jumped to runner-up position. In a late twist to the plot, Sam Sunderland was handed back his one hour penalty awarded on stage eight which means he moves into third overall giving KTM a 1-2-3. Quintanilla came home in fourth place with Andrew Short fifth. 

Laia Sanz finished as top female rider in 11th position. 

Edwin Straver has taken the Original by Motul, unassisted category in 30th overall.

Ross Branch was best placed Rookie in 13th overall. 

2019 Dakar Rally stage 10 results:

Results Dakar 2019 Stage 10 Enduro21
Results2 Dakar 2019 Stage 10 Enduro21
Results3 Dakar 2019 Stage 10 Enduro21

Final overall Dakar 2019 standings (updated):

Dakar Rally 2019 Overall results Enduro21
Dakar Rally 2019 Overall results2 Enduro21
Dakar Rally 2019 Overall results3 Enduro21
Dakar Rally 2019 Overall results4 Enduro21
Photo Credit: Marcin Kin
Byline jp ISDE 2018 Enduro21
Jon Pearson
Enduro21 Editor and Bike Tester