Taylor Robert make a once-off ride at the fifth round of the AMA National Hare and Hound Championship to victory in the first time of asking. 

He was joined on the podium by KTM teammate Gary Sutherlin and Husqvarna’s Jacob Argubright.

Round five of the Kenda/SRT AMA National Hare and Hound Championship was set to be one of the largest events of the season as a three-way sanctioned series in the small town of Caliente, NV. MRAN, USRA and District 37 all brought their top riders to the game and ironically it was a racer out of Arizona in his first attempt at a National Hare and Hound that would take the win.

Factory KTM/FMF racer Taylor Robert has recently been battling it out in the World Enduro Championship was getting prepped for the upcoming ISDE in Spain and dropped into the championship on a whim to do some Hare and Hound racing.

146473 Taylor Robert KTM 350 EXC F Heinola 2016 1200

It definitely wasn’t an easy win for Robert as team mate Gary Sutherlin aboard his Bonanza Plumbing supporting KTM 450 XC-F was hot on his heals the entire way. Sutherlin is himself fresh off of his spleen surgery and looks to be at the top of his game out in the desert. 

With only one race win under his belt he is out of the title chase but is still looking to get that top spot. 

Factory Husqvarna’s Jacob Argubright crossed the line in third and is inching his way up on JCR Honda’s Ricky Brabec who was out of the country for this round racing the Atacama Rally for HRC. After a hard fought third overall Argubright now sits just 12 points off of Brabec with two rounds to go.

Coming across in fourth was the odds on favourite local racer Purvines Racing’s Axel Pearson. After taking the win at the last West Hare Scramble hosted just a few miles up the road Pearson looked to have the momentum he needed but another bad start made him work for it finishing five seconds short of the podium. 

Purvines team mate Nick Burson came across in fifth and now both riders sit fifth and sixth in the championship chase.

Results - Top 10 Pro Overall

1. Taylor Robert (KTM)

2. Gary Sutherlin (KTM)

3. Jacob Argubright (Husqvarna)

4. Axel Pearson (Beta)

5. Nick Burson (Beta)

6. Skyler Howes (Yamaha)

7. Ryan Smith (Yamaha)

8. Justin Morgan (Yamaha)

9. Joe Wasson (Yamaha)

10. Max Eddy Jr. (Kawasaki)