russell bobbitt ama enduro champion tulsa 046 2 1200

The final round of the AMA Enduro Championship proved an important one for Russell Bobbit when he won his fifth title.

Bobbitt’s first championship came 10 years ago in 2006 before winning back-to-back titles in 2008 and 2009. Last winning in 2011, it took five years to do it again in 2016. 

Starting the year out strong, he racked up a trio of runner-up results in the first three rounds before winning rounds four and five.

Continuing what’s been a solid season for the KTM rider, Bobbitt then headed into the series finale at Zink Rach 17 points up on his nearest rival Steward Baylor.

russell bobbitt ama enduro champion tulsa 046 1 1200

With eyes on the bigger prize, Bobbitt brought his KTM home is sixth and with Baylor placing third it was more than enough to seal the deal.

“I’m really pumped to get five National Enduro Championships and to get this one 10 years after my first is special,” told 2016 champion Bobbitt.

Finishing 11 points behind Bobbitt, Steward Baylor made it a KTM 1-2. 

Having started out the year with victory in the opening two rounds, Yamaha’s Grant Baylor - brother to Steward - added another win to his tally at round six to complete this year’s series top three.

Claiming a top 10 overall result, Dylan Macritchie (KTM) won the Expert AA category.


2016 AMA Enduro Championship Standings - Top 15

Bobbitt Becomes Five Time AMA Enduro Champ 840