ama national hare and hound ricky brabec 1 1200

Photo Credit: Mark Kariya

Honda’s Ricky Brabec claimed victory at round three of the AMA National Hare and Hound Championship in Idaho.

The AMA KENDA/SRT National Hare and Hound series was treated to a near perfect weekend of racing in Murphy, Idaho for the 42nd Annual Rabbit Creek 100 hosted by Dirt Inc. Motorcycle Club. 

Located just south of Boise, off-road enthusiasts of all skill levels took to a 120+ mile course that sprawled across the Ohywee desert. Water crossings, cow trails, tight rocky canyons and wide open two track adorned a racer-favourite event. And just as the previous two rounds, the battles in all classes have proven the skill elevation of the nation's top desert racers.



In continuation of the action-packed racing in the Pro class, it turned out to be another showdown between the top five contenders.

Off the start, JCR Honda's Ricky Brabec, Kamo, Purvines Yamaha DA8 rider Gary Sutherlin, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing's Jacob Argubright and Purvines Yamaha DA8's Nick Burson jumped into a head-to-head race that lasted the entire first loop, with Sutherlin coming in as leader on loop one ahead of Brabec, Argubright, Burson and Kamo.

Things got more interesting on loop two when Brabec passed Sutherlin for the lead. Back in third, Argubright hurt his wrist, causing him to lose grip and ultimately the final podium position. This allowed Burson to get by and race to the finish in third place overall, while David Kamo — who came out of semis-retirement — finished fourth ahead of Argubright in fifth. 

The remaining top 10 positions were earned by Axel Pearson, Justin Morgan, Nic Garvin, Taylor Stevens and Jared Schlapia. Now three rounds in, the points chase is led by 2016 champion Brabec (85) with Sutherlin (76) and Argubright (55) behind.


ama national hare and hound pee wee class 1 1600

Photo Credit: Mark Kariya

PRO 250

The FMF 250 Pro Class saw a new winner this season, as SRT racer Morgan Crawford challenged Pro 250 points leader Tyler Lynn. On lap one, Lynn led Crawford through the main pits, but it wasn't long before the Husqvarna rider Crawford made his pass on Lynn, eventually building a 2:31 gap. Burke Barnes and Braydon Bland had a thrilling battle of their own, swapping positions between loop one and two. Ultimately it was Barnes would earn third in class.


While round one and two saw Britney Gallegos and FMF KTM Factory Racing's Kacy Martinez Coy battle it out (each with a respective win), round three saw Utah's very own Rebecca Stout challenge the duo, taking second place. Meanwhile, Martinez earned her second National Hare & Hound win, while Gallegos finished third. Joining Martinez on the box, each taking their share of the Elegant Cabinetry #WomenofNHHA purse were Rebecca Stout ($300) and Britney Gallegos ($200).


ama national hare and hound pee wee class 1 1200

Photo Credit: Mark Kariya


The third installation of the Fasst Co. Youth Hound Development challenged the youngest of series racers to (like the big guys) catch a hare of their own. Special guest hare for Idaho was NHHA vet and local David Kamo, who was fully dressed in a rabbit suit from head to toe. 

In the Pee Wee event, Brennen Watson earned himself $25 contingency and a sponsorship offer from Fasst Co.! Likewise, Mason Matthies proved to be the fastest hound, earning his third Fasst Co. contingency in row! 

Saturday's main feature showcased the Youth series, beginning with the Pee Wee's. Off the start, the racing immediately turned into an all out battle between Brennen Watson, Grady Ballow, Sean Taylor Freeman and Ryker Sperry. Over the next three laps, Ballow challenged Watson for the lead position, until lap five when Freeman made the pass from third to first. With five laps to go, Sperry kicked it up and pressured Freeman for the top podium position, ultimately taking over all the way to the finish line. Freeman managed to keep his cool and race to the checkers in second, with Watson right on his tail. 

Following the Pee Wee's, the Big Wheel, Mini, Junior Mini, Micro Mini, Girls, Jr. Girls and 65's lined up for a 1-hour and 30-minute race, made up of 10-miles of perfect Idaho terrain. At the drop of the banner, Mason Matthies edged out Cody Boyce and Cody Kurtz to ultimately catch the hare and assume the overall lead. 


ama national hare and hound pee wee class 1200

Photo Credit: Mark Kariya

Matthies had no intention of chasing dust, as he checked out and eventually built a lead of over 1-minute over the entire field to the finish. Hagen Boyce chased the target on Matthies back, while Kurtz held onto third to claim the remaining podium positions. But the battle of the day went to Jace Love and Rylan Binford (Mini class) who swapped positions in 4th and 5th over the entire duration of the race.   

In the Junior Mini pack, Karson Boyce led the group, leaving the hard part up to Jacob Scott and Decker Kauer to fight to the finish behind him. In the 65 ranks, Jett Lessing and Lane Forbes put on quite the show as they battled for the lead class position in the hunt, and the championship title. Forbes led the first two laps ahead of Lessing and Dirt Inc.'s very own Hunter Hoshaw! At the half way point, Lessing made his move on Forbes, carrying his winning momentum to the finish.

The Girls and Junior Girls had a race of their own going on, starting with Junior Girls class points leader Ty Woolslayer and Girls class points leader Kassidy Laswell chasing another for overall position. Chidester Transport Racing's Woolslayer dominated the Junior Girls class, and ultimately finished as the first girl overall; further extending her class points lead. In chasing Woolslayer, Laswell ended up building a gap on her peers, earning the class win ahead of Karleigh Sienbenthall and Ryan Evans.

Round four of the NHHA heads to Lucerne Valley, California Saturday, April 29th. 

For more information check out or look us up on Facebook at