ama national hare and hound championship 2017 6

Photo Credit: Kato

Yamaha’s Gary Sutherlin ended his 217 season on a high taking home the 2017 AMA National Hare and Hound Championship with a win.

100's MC hosted the 50th Annual Johnson Valley Championship this past weekend in Johnson Valley OHV. 

A weekend jam-packed with racing and activities, Saturday saw the final round and champions of the AMA KENDA SRT National Youth Hare and Hound Championship series, a desert racing museum, free food, and a live band, while Sunday saw well-earned championships from Gary Sutherlin, Kacy Martinez, Tyler Lynn, Rachel Stout and more! 

Pro — Championship honours for Sutherlin

ama national hare and hound championship 2017 2

Photo Credit: Kato

Around two miles out from 100's MC camp, the Big Bikes lined up on the bomb run for the last race of the weekend with 104 miles of gruelling desert terrain awaiting them.

As the banner dropped Sutherlin, Purvines Racing backed Nick Burson and Axel Pearson began their battle for the lead. 

Coming into the pits off the first loop, Sutherlin was in the lead, as reported two miles out from home check. 

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing's Jacob Argubright coming in seconds in front of Burson. 

FMF KTM Factory Racing's Taylor Robert raced into the pits in fourth ahead of Axel Pearson, Sage Vincent and Precision Concepts rider Justin Morgan.

Over the next loop, Loop 2, the running order would change as Argubright found himself out of contention after a crash in a rock section sent him to the ground. This allowed Robert to advance with hopes of catching the leader Sutherlin. 

Meanwhile, making his way up from a troubled start, Beta's Joe Wasson raced through the field in his first race back since round two. 

An impressive performance from Wasson placed him within the top 10 overall by Loop 3.


ama national hare and hound championship 2017 3

Photo Credit: Kato

With JCR Honda Factory Racing's Ricky Brabec facing mechanical difficulties with his bike, he was forced to end his race early along with Argubright. 

A loop that seemed more intense coming through the pits, Gary Sutherlin maintained his lead with Robert behind in second. 

Sutherlin and Robert being so close on the race course made fans and both teams anxious for the outcome in points, the championship title playing a major role! 

Coming off the third loop, earning the 2017 National Hare and Hound Championship title, Purvines/DA8 backed Gary Sutherlin finished first overall with Taylor Robert in second and Nick Burson in third. 

Wrapping up the championship a round early, this officially marks Gary Sutherlin's first AMA KENDA SRT National Hare & Hound Championship title after successfully overcoming many challenging seasons.

Pro 250 — Lynn takes the win

The FMF Pro 250 podium saw a Pro 250 Championship from Tyler Lynn as he stormed his way to victory.

Chance Fullerton took over the leading position during the first loop but he was unable to complete the remainder of his race due to mechanical difficulties. 

Nick Tolman and first-time desert racer Cole Canatser battled it out for second place position but Canatser won the battle and came in second behind Tyler Lynn, with Tolman in third. 

Women: Martinez crowned champion

ama national hare and hound championship 2017 1

Photo Credit: Kato

A steady race for the Women's class saw Brandy Richards hold first place position for the entire race, with FMF KTM Factory Racing's Kacy Martinez never too far behind. 

Britney Gallegos held her third place spot, giving the other two women some healthy competition out on course. 

Kacy Martinez also took home the 2017 Women's National Hare and Hound Championship title. 

Youth class

ama national hare and hound championship 2017 5

Photo Credit: Kato

The AMA KENDA SRT National Youth Hare and Hound Championship Series was brought to a close Saturday at Round 8 in Johnson Valley OHV. 

The first race of the weekend saw a win from Ryker Sperry in the Pee Wee race. 

In a close battle in points and on course with Brennen Watson, Sperry took the overall win and the #1 plate for the 50cc class. 

Ryker Sperry also caught the Fasst Company youth Hare, Axel Pearson! 

Race 2 of the day saw Micro Mini, Junior Girls, and Girls classes. Getting the hole shot, catching the Fasst Company Hare, and locking in a solid lead the entire race, Laci Olivas took the overall win. 

Kassidy Laswell also wrapped up the championship for the girls class. 

Lane Forbes, Jett Lessing, and Dustyn Davis held a steady race of their own for the Micro Mini class, resulting in a win from Jett Lessing, with Lane Forbes in 2nd and Dustyn Davis in 3rd

As for the last race of the day, the Big Wheel race saw an overall win from Mason Matthies, while also taking the 2017 National Youth Hare and Hound Championship. 

Clayton Roberts took second overall behind Matthies with Bradley East in third.