Kailub Russell and Thad Duvall continued their GNCC battle at Camp Coker Bullet 2018. Trading the lead during three hours of racing, the duo eventually finished just 0.6 seconds apart.


The battle for GNCC honours between Kailub Russell and Thad Duvall is a hot one in 2018. The pair have duked out every one of the five rounds so far this year with each event seemingly getting closer at the finish. At Moree’s Sportsman’s Preserve this weekend the three hour race boiled down to under a second as they raced to the flag. 


XC1 Pro Open Class

Thad Duvall earned the holeshot award and grabbed the early lead with Kailub Russell and Ricky Russell hot on his heels heading into the first turn. 

Russell would pass Duvall and push ahead for a six second gap as they came through timing and scoring on lap one. K. Russell and Duvall continued to break away from the rest of the XC1 Open Pro field.


GNCC Camp Coker 2018 Ricky Russell Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


On lap three, Duvall would make a pass for the lead around the three mile marker, but by the time the riders came through the finish, Russell was back in the lead. 

Ricky Russell continued to hold third spot followed by the hard-charging Trevor Bollinger.

As the two-lap card came out today, it was K. Russell leading by two seconds over Duvall. Steward Baylor Jr. had to make an early pit on lap three, but had worked his way back into the top five.

When the chequered flag flew Russell crossed the line just 0.620 seconds ahead of Duvall after three-hours of wheel-to-wheel racing.

Russell continued to hold onto his third place from Bollinger in fourth, Steward Baylor in fifth and Josh Strang in sixth.


XC2 250 Pro Class

The XC2 250 Pro class saw Craig Delong holeshot but Cole Mattison lead as they came around on the first lap. Josh Toth was right behind him with Mike Witkowski running in the third.


GNCC Camp Coker 2018 Josh Toth Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


As the racing continued, Ben Kelley made the move into the second followed by Austin Lee charging to third place. Liam Draper was having his best race of 2018 running in the fourth.

But it was Toth who took the win followed by Kelley, just 11 seconds behind. Lee remained in the third spot followed by Draper and Evan Smith rounding out the top five.


GNCC Camp Coker 2018 XC3 125 start Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


XC3 125 Pro-Am class 

Jesse Ansley took another win in South Carolina. Jason Raines came through in second followed by Cody Barnes. Holeshot award winner, Teagarden would come away with a fourth place and Colin Keegan took the fifth.

The WXC class swept the 10am overall podium with Tayla Jones back on top in South Carolina, earning her fourth win of the season. Becca Sheets and Mackenzie Tricker rounded out the top three.

In the 8am Youth race Peyton Whipkey earned his fourth win of the season, remaining first in the YXC1 Super Mini Sr. (14-15) class. Max Fernandez and Tyler Palmer finished second and third overall, while Joseph Cunningham took home the YXC2 Super Mini Jr. (12-13) win.


GNCC Camp Coker 2018 Whipkey Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill

XC1 Open Pro Event Results:

  1. Kailub Russell (KTM)
  2. Thad Duvall (HQV)
  3. Ricky Russell (YAM)
  4. Trevor Bollinger (HON)
  5. Steward Baylor Jr. (KTM)
  6. Josh Strang (HQV)
  7. Jordan Ashburn (BET)
  8. Cory Buttrick (HQV)
  9. Jesse Groemm (KTM)
  10. Andrew Delong (GAS)

Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Kailub Russell (145)
  2. Thad Duvall (126)
  3. Steward Baylor Jr. (99)
  4. Trevor Bollinger (90)
  5. Ben Kelley (79)
  6. Josh Strang (71)
  7. Josh Toth (61)
  8. Layne Michael (52)
  9. Ricky Russell (51)
  10. Pascal Rauchenecker (50)

XC2 250 Pro Event Results:

  1. Josh Toth (KTM)
  2. Ben Kelley (KTM)
  3. Austin Lee (HON)
  4. Liam Draper (HQV)
  5. Evan Smith (HQV)
  6. Trevor Barrett (YAM)
  7. Braxton McGee (HQV)
  8. Jonathan Johnson (YAM)
  9. Pascal Rauchenecker (HQV)
  10. Nick Davis (GAS)

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings:

  1. Ben Kelley (140)
  2. Josh Toth (110)
  3. Pascal Rauchenecker (100)
  4. Craig Delong (75)
  5. Liam Draper (69)
  6. Austin Lee (65)
  7. Evan Smith (59)
  8. Trevor Barrett (52)
  9. Nick Davis (51)
  10. Jonathan Johnson (51)


The 2018 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series will continue on May 12 and 13 with the second annual X-Factor GNCC in Peru, Indiana.

More information at: gncc.com