Thad Duvall takes his second win of the 2018 GNCC championship at Sunday Creek Raceway, Ohio, ahead of teammate Josh Strang and championship leader, Kailub Russell.


Thad Duvall took the lead early in this weekend’s John Penton GNCC and held on to take a strong win at round seven of the 2018 AMA series. It was Duvall's second overall victory of 2018 and he now sits 15 points behind Kailub Russell in the National Championship points standings.

It was Josh Strang who nailed the race start at Sunday Creek Raceway in Millfield, Ohio, The Wiseco John Penton GNCC, closely followed by teammate Duvall as they headed into the woods. But Duvall  took the lead early and came through timing on lap one 2.6 second ahead of Grant Baylor.

Duvall and Baylor held first and second for the first three laps, however Grant found himself stuck in one of the toughest portions throughout the course, the Penton section, on lap four and was ultimately unable to finish. 


Pro podium John Penton GNCC Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


That allowed Strang to move into the second for the remaining two laps, earning his first podium finish of the season.

Championship leader Kailub Russell had trouble firing his bike on the start and had to charge through the pack to come around in third on lap one. Then on the second lap he was forced to pit early for a new set of gloves after plunging into a water section. 

Russell swapped third and fourth positions all race, but after a hard charge he finished only two seconds behind second place at the flag.


Strang Russell Battle John Penton GNCC Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


After starting down in tenth, Steward Baylor Jr. pushed hard through the first three laps to make the pass for fourth a little over the halfway. Unable to catch the top three, Baylor crossed the finish line in fourth.

Beta USA’s Jordan Ashburn put in one of his best rides at The John Penton this past Sunday. Ashburn started the race mid-pack but managed to make his way through for a top five finish in the XC1 Open Pro class. 

XC2 250 Pro class

Nick Davis got the jump off the second row and grabbed the holeshot but Craig Delong took the lead on lap one. Delong held the lead in the XC2 250 Pro class for the first three laps, running fifth overall but relented to Josh Toth before falling back to the third place behind Ben Kelley on the third lap.


XC250 start John Penton GNCC Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


XC3 125 Pro-Am class

As the XC3 125 Pro-Am class took off Alex Teagarden earned the Holeshot and held the lead through lap one. Jesse Ansley was just seven seconds behind him but it was Jason Raines who lead after two laps followed by Teagarden and Jason Langenback. Teagarden would re-make the pass for the lead and remained there until the flag, earning his second FMF XC3 class win of the season. A final podium change saw Cody Barnes round out the top three.

Taking the top amateur honour was Tyler Soriano, who also earned himself the Open A win. Ben Parsons and Levi Keller took second and third in the Open A class. The 250 A class win went to Jojo Bowden followed by Dakoda Devore and Brewer Cawley rounding out the top three.


Pro Am podium John Penton GNCC Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


The 10am overall race podium featured three Sportsman A riders Josh Kellough, Justin Parsons and Joshua Sexton. The WXC race win went to Tricker followed by Shelby Rolen who made her first WXC podium appearance this year. Tayla Jones led the WXC class on lap one, but struck bad luck throughout the race and came home third. 

The youth bike racers took to an extremely slick and muddy racecourse on Sunday morning. Max Fernandez took the overall and YXC1 Super Mini Sr. class win. YXC2 Super Mini Jr.’s Grant Davis was second overall, earning his class win as well. Tyler Palmer was third and second in YXC1. Canon Kuneff earned the 85cc (12-13) class win, finishing sixth overall.


XC1 Open Pro Event Results:

  1. Thad Duvall (HQV)
  2. Josh Strang (HQV)
  3. Kailub Russell (KTM)
  4. Steward Baylor Jr. (KTM)
  5. Jordan Ashburn (BET)
  6. Ricky Russell (YAM)
  7. Trevor Bollinger (HON)
  8. Cory Buttrick (HQV)
  9. Andrew Delong (GAS)
  10. Layne Michael (HQV)

Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Kailub Russell (196)
  2. Thad Duvall (181)
  3. Steward Baylor Jr. (135)
  4. Trevor Bollinger (118)
  5. Josh Strang (111)
  6. Ben Kelley (105)
  7. Josh Toth (90)
  8. Ricky Russell (78)
  9. Jordan Ashburn (61)
  10. Craig Delong (58)

XC2 250 Pro Event Results:

  1. Josh Toth (KTM)
  2. Ben Kelley (KTM)
  3. Craig Delong (HQV)
  4. Austin Lee (HON)
  5. Nick Davis (GAS)
  6. Evan Smith (HQV)
  7. Zach Nolan (KTM)
  8. Sam Evans (KTM)
  9. Zack Hayes (KTM)
  10. Jonathan Johnson (YAM)

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings:

  1. Ben Kelley (190)
  2. Josh Toth (170)
  3. Craig Delong (117)
  4. Pascal Rauchenecker (112)
  5. Austin Lee (101)
  6. Evan Smith (89)
  7. Liam Draper (82)
  8. Nick Davis (81)
  9. Jonathan Johnson (75)
  10. Michael Witkowski (66)

The Pro race was broadcast live on and can be viewed as archived video online by visiting the GNCC LIVE page online. A highlight show featuring the event will be aired on the NBC Sports Network on Sunday, June 23 at 6:00 p.m.

Report: Kayla Oliver/