GNCC goes down to the wire again in 2018 as Kailub Russell and Trevor Bollinger fight to the flag at Tomahawk – Josh Toth earns his fifth XC2 250 Pro Class win.


Round eight of the 2018 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series was greeted with more than perfect racing conditions as temperatures were in the mid-60’s and a cool breeze on Seneca Highlands for the Dunlop Tomahawk GNCC in Odessa, New York.


Kailub Russell GNCC Tomahawk 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill

XC1 Pro class

Making his return to GNCC, Ryan Sipes grabbed the main event holeshot and lead for the first laps of the race, but ultimately finish in 18th. Kailub Russell and Trevor Bollinger would make the early pass and push forward battling amongst themselves for the three-hour race.

Bollinger came through timing each lap just seconds behind Russell, pushing harder each lap. When the white flag flew Bollinger tried for a last lap charge but finished just 0.8 seconds behind K. Russell. This is Bollinger’s second appearance on the podium this year, and his best performance thus far in the season.


Trevor Bollinger GNCC Tomahawk 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill

Just two weeks ago in Ohio, Thad Duvall dominated the day but a mid-pack start left him way down on the two front-runners. Duvall worked up to third on the second lap and remained there for the duration of the race. 

Duvall’s team-mate Josh Strang finished fourth after finding himself in the ninth on the second lap. He put his head down from there and made the charge up to fourth.

Ricky Russell ran in podium contention early in the race. No stranger to the top five positions in the XC1 ranks, Ricky earned his second-best finish of the season with a fifth overall in New York.

Steward Baylor and Grant Baylor were not having the race they hoped for. Grant was out after two laps due to a mechanical issue while Steward was putting in a good ride until he blew a fuse on his bike. 


Josh Toth GNCC Tomahawk 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill

XC2 250 Pro class

As the XC2 250 Pro class started Joseph Ferraro took the holeshot but Josh Toth took over the lead soon after. As Toth came through the timing and scoring zone on lap one, he was running second overall on adjusted time just one second behind K. Russell in the Pro class – such was his pace. 

Toth went on to ride his own race, pushing to make his move and land on the overall podium. However, he would finish out the day by earning his fifth XC2 250 Pro class win and coming in sixth overall.


Craig Delong GNCC Tomahawk 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill

Craig Delong put in his best ride of 2018 finishing second in his class and seventh overall. Delong had a good jump off the line and started his day in the second, steadily working his way through to try and catch the leader to battle for his first win. Delong’s teammate Pascal Rauchenecker made his return to GNCC after missing round seven due to his hand injury. Rauchenecker had an unfavorable start to the day but proved that his hand was not going to hold him back. Rauchi pushed throughout the race, coming from eighth and working his way up to third by the flag.

Current XC2 250 Pro class points leader, Ben Kelley found himself on the ground in turn two. Kelley would regroup and come through on lap one in ninth. Trying to salvage points Kelley worked his way to fourth in his class and round out the top 10 in the overall results.

Liam Draper found himself running at the front of the pack early in the race but dropped to fifth in the end ahead Jonathan Johnson and Ryder Lafferty who found themselves having one of their best rides of the season as well in New York finishing sixth and seventh in the XC2 250 Pro class.


XC125 start GNCC Tomahawk 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


XC3 125 Pro-Am class

Alex Teagarden and Jason Raines were banging bars as they came around the first turn but Jesse Ansley took advantage and got the holeshot. Ansley lead the race start to finish without much pressure from the battles behind him. 

Currently leading the points, Ansley would take his fourth win of the season and a top 20 overall finish. Raines currently sits 12 points behind Ansley in second, and after battling throughout the day he earned his sixth podium finish of the year.

Teagarden found himself in fourth behind Jason Langenback. Teagarden and Langenback fought throughout the race for third until Teagarden made the pass stick on lap four. Teagarden finds himself currently sitting fourth in points, just one behind third, and 36 behind Ansley.


Tricker GNCC Tomahawk 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


Morning races

When the chequered flag flew for the 10am race Grant Maryott of the Sportsman A class taking the overall victory. However, Mackenzie Tricker was not far behind finishing third overall and taking her second WXC win of the season. Tayla Jones finished behind Tricker for second in the WXC class with Brooke Cosner in third.

The Youth race at 8am Peyton Whipkey came away with his fifth win of the season. Whipkey is currently fourth in points in the YXC1 Super Mini Sr. class. Brayden Nolette made his second appearance at GNCC and first on the podium with second followed by Tyler Palmer rounding out the top three. Grant Davis took the YXC2 Super Mini Jr. class win and finished the day in fourth overall. Coming through in seventh overall and leading the 85 (12-13) class was Cooper Jones and Prestin Raines took the Girls (8-15) class win.


 GNCC podium Tomahawk 2018 Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


XC1 Open Pro Event Results:

  1. Kailub Russell (KTM)
  2. Trevor Bollinger (HON)
  3. Thad Duvall (HQV)
  4. Josh Strang (HQV)
  5. Ricky Russell (YAM)
  6. Layne Michael (HQV)
  7. Andrew Delong (GAS)
  8. Jordan Ashburn (BET)
  9. Ryan Sipes (HQV)
  10. Jesse Groemm (KTM)

Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Kailub Russell (226)
  2. Thad Duvall (202)
  3. Trevor Bollinger (143)
  4. Steward Baylor Jr. (135)
  5. Josh Strang (129)
  6. Ben Kelley (116)
  7. Josh Toth (105)
  8. Ricky Russell (94)
  9. Craig Delong (72)
  10. Jordan Ashburn (66)

XC2 250 Pro Event Results:

  1. Josh Toth (KTM)
  2. Craig Delong (HQV)
  3. Pascal Rauchenecker (HQV)
  4. Ben Kelley (KTM)
  5. Liam Draper (HQV)
  6. Jonathan Johnson (YAM)
  7. Ryder Lafferty (KTM)
  8. Evan Smith (HQV)
  9. Austin Lee (HON)
  10. Michael Witkowski (BET)

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings:

  1. Ben Kelley (208)
  2. Josh Toth (200)
  3. Craig Delong (142)
  4. Pascal Rauchenecker (133)
  5. Austin Lee (113)
  6. Evan Smith (102)
  7. Liam Draper (98)
  8. Jonathan Johnson (90)
  9. Nick Davis (82)
  10. Michael Witkowski (77)


Report: Kayla Olliver/GNCC Racing