Honda Racing riders Tosha Schareina and Francesca Nocera have claimed the round one win at their first attempt in the FIM E-Xplorer World Cup, electric off-road motorcycle series which features big names from the enduro and rally-raid world championships.

The city of Osaka hosted the second season of the FIM E-Xplorer World Cup opening round this weekend. The five-round electric world cup series is basically enduro (we’re saying) on mixed courses which test the same range of skills which make enudor what it is as a sport.  

With the series growing in stature, the pedigree of the riders continues to grow and the factory teams (and bikes) competing has stepped up a notch this year.

The racing and course looked a little like this...


A post shared by E-Xplorer (@fimexplorer)


Not least with an official Honda Racing Corporation (HRC) with team riders Tosha Schareina and Francesca Nocera, one male and one female as per the rules, clocked a maiden victory in their first crack at the series.

Despite Spaniards Jorge Zaragoza (Robbie Maddison Racing) and Sandra Gomez (Inde Racing) claiming the individual class victoriesm, the HRC Rally rider Schareina and Honda RedMoto enduro team rider Nocera claimed second place in the respective categories to claim the overall on aggregate in an impressive list of riders

“Today was a day full of ups and downs, but we managed to overcome the challenges and take the team victory. I am incredibly proud of the effort of the whole HRC team,” commented Tosha Schareina after the race. “It was very tough and quite different to what I’m used to, but I think the team did a great job during these days and in the end we got the team victory.”

“This bike has been improving day by day,” adds Francesca Nocera, “despite the few days we have had to test it, but I am very happy with the result and with the incredible work of the whole team.”

2024 FIM E-Xplorer round one in Osaka, male classification:

1. Jorge Zaragoza (ESP, Robbie Maddison Racing)  75 POINTS

2. Tosha Schareina (ESP, Team HRC)                         64 POINTS

3. Dylan Woodcock (UK, Bonell Racing)                    56 POINTS

4. Alex Andreis (ITA, Gravity)                                      56 POINTS

5. Spencer Wilton (CAN, Inde Racing)                       52 POINTS

6. Stuart Edmonds (IRL, PCR-E)                                   44 POINTS

7. Yoshikazu Hosaka (JPN, Caofen)                            41 POINTS

8. Jack Field (AUS, AUS-E Racing)                               41 POINTS

2024 FIM E-Xplorer round one in Osaka, female classification:

1. Sandra Gomez (ESP, Inde Racing)                           69 POINTS

2. Francesca Nocera (ITA, Team HRC)                        68 POINTS

3. Tanja Schlosser (GER, Gravity)                                 62 POINTS

4. Virginie Germond (SUI, Robbie Maddison Racing) 56 POINTS

5. Nieve HOLMES (GBR, PCR-E)                                  45 POINTS

6. Kristie McKinnon (AUS, Bonnell Racing)               45 POINTS

7. Yuka Sugahara (JPN, Caofen)                                  44 POINTS

8. Jessica Gardiner (AUS, AUS-E Racing)                   40 POINTS

2024 FIM E-Xplorer round one in Osaka, team classification:

1. TEAM HRC                                       132 POINTS


3. INDE RACING                                  121 POINTS

4. GRAVITY                                          118 POINTS

5. BONNELL                                        101 POINTS

6. PCR-E                                                89 POINTS

7. CAOFEN                                            85 POINTS

8. AUS-E RACING                                 81 POINTS


Photo Credit: Honda Racing