Coastal GasGas Racing’s Ryder Lafferty wins the opening round of the 2024 Red Line Oil AMA National Enduro Series presented by Beta Motorcycles and MSR, the FMF Sumter National Enduro.

Held annually near the air force base in Sumter, Southern Carolina, The Sumter National Enduro and its sandy soil created epic conditions for the riders as they began the 2024 series.

Ryder Lafferty came into the new season making a big statement by winning five out of the six tests to claim a 43 second victory. “I got second places here the last two years.” Says the Coastal GasGas Factory Racing team rider who takes the early lead in the championship. “I wanted to make sure I came in and took a win away from the Baylors.”


Second overall was one of the most successful family in National Enduro, Steward Baylor Jr onboard his new ride with the newly formed Red Bear Rocky Mountain Kawasaki team. Speaking of his first competitive outing on the green machines, Steward said, “I really made sure that we got our team the right equipment and got the bike dialed in so we can come out swinging in the first round.”

Steward was the only rider that was able to take a test win away from Lafferty in test 5.


A new face to the National Enduro scene, FMF KTM’s Johnny Girroir, took the final spot on the NE Pro1 podium in third overall. Johnny had a get-off in the first test of the day to put him in a hole early: “I hit something in a fast straight that sent me flying through the air.” Explained Girroir. “After that I put my head down and put in a charge to make up some time the rest of the day. I am happy to finish on the podium.” Johnny went on to take the second fastest time in three of the tests later in the day.

Fourth overall on the day was AM-Pro Yamaha rider Ricky Russell ahead of Enduro Engineering GasGas rider Josh Toth. Sixth overall was new Red Bear Rocky Mountain Kawasaki rider Thad Duvall with Evan Smith was able to take seventh overall on his Max Motorsports Husqvarna.

Defending National Enduro Champion Grant Baylor suffered a mechanical problem in test five knocking him out of contention after running within the podium places. Despite that, we took a close look at some of the parts fitted to his Babbitt's Online Kawasaki: Spotted: Babbitt’s Kawasaki doubling-up starter buttons and hoses at National Enduro

NE Pro2 win for Grant Davis

First place in the NE Pro2 Class and eighth overall was Landers KTM rider Grant Davis. Grant won the first two tests of the day before giving some time back in the middle portion of the day. In the sixth and final test, Grant put in the fastest Pro2 time to take the win by 21 seconds.


Nathaniel ‘Bubz’ Tasha was ninth overall and second in NE Pro2 aboard his AM-Pro Yamaha. Bubz said “I am really happy with my bike. I feel like I can go fast because I am comfortable on it.” Bubz was able to win the third test on the day in class.

Another new face on the Pro podium was 10th overall and third in NE Pro2, Babbitt’s Kawasaki rider Nicholas Defeo. Defeo has ridden one other National Enduro in 2021 in the B class. Sumter was his first NE Pro2 race and he was able to take the final spot on the podium.

Rachel Archer clear winner in Womens Elite

Winning the Womens Elite class at the FMF Sumter round was yet another Red Bear Rocky Mountain Kawasaki rider Rachael Archer. The New Zealand rider won final three of five sections. She found her groove on the later part of the day and was able to stretch the margin to over a minute over second place.


Rachel Gutish was second in the Womens Elite class on her new Sherco after grabbing the first two test wins. Gutish said: “I’m happy to be on a real enduro bike with a head light and kickstand. I had a pretty smooth day and happy with how I rode.”

Fresh off of two knee surgeries last year was the Womens Elite third place rider Shelby Turner on her new Enduro Engineering GasGas. The Canadian rider said she was getting better as the day went on and felt the best at the end of the day.

Top AA rider was Caleb Baltimore on a KTM. Overall A winner was Chase Landers on a KTM. Jacob McPherson was the top B class rider. Brayden Clark on a Kawasaki was the fastest C class rider.

The next stop on the 2024 Red Line Oil AMA National Enduro Series circuit is on April 7 in Forest Hill, LA for the Beta Motorcycles Cajun Classic National Enduro.

2024 FMF Sumter National Enduro results (top 25):


Sumter podium interviews:


Full results and more information:


Photo Credit: Mack Faint