Video highlights from round two of the 2023 British Extreme Super Series, The Ultimate Edge, where Mitch Brightmore swapped SuperEnduro for proper hard enduro, taking the win ahead of Dan Peace and Jack Spencer.

Mitch Brightmore carried his SuperEnduro World Championship indoor form to a very different conditions at round two of the new British Extreme Super Series. The Edge Off Road event at the spectacular Leighton Hall estate on the brink of the Lake District, promised less trials-like terrain than the previous year’s race, this year running with a XC-style format across three hours to the flag.

Let us tell you it was no less hard for the fact it was a more flowing, multi-lap event with glass-like limestone a treacherous feature – they are the kind of rocks that if you know, you know. One minute you’re tip-toeing through thinking you’re getting away with it, the next you can’t put a foot down anywhere without it feeling like the rug has been whipped away at 300 miles an hour.

Mitch Brightmore was the standout rider in the conditions taking the win despite dropping time early on to the leaders. The Rieju pilot took the win three and a half minutes from second placed Dan Peace revelling in the conditions.

The Sherco rider, who put a TrialGP career to bed only last year, arguably put in the performance of the day starting from the second row in the experts with a lot of overtaking and time to make up.

Third place overall and second in the Pro class, nearly three minutes back, was Beta UK’s Jack Spencer – this despite being held up at one point by yours truly, Enduro21’s editor in a tight rock section with one line. Thanks for being patient Jack!

Watch the video long enough and you’ll spot us putting our money where our mouth is, tasting how slippery those rocks were (around the 9:20 mark). Bike and kit review from the race coming later this week.

2023 British Extreme Super Series round 2 results (top 10):

1. Mitch Brightmore   Pro      5          3:18:35.20      

2. Dan Peace               Expert 5          3:22:04.41      

3. Jack Spencer           Pro      5          3:24:48.09      

4. Richard Moorhouse Pro     5          3:30:45.36      

5. Robert Crayston      Pro      5          3:37:21.43      

6. Ash Brightmore       Pro      4          3:00:18.37      

7. Stuart Mack             Expert 4          3:20:52.89      

8. Charlie Frost            Pro      4          3:26:14.64      

9. Reece Gazzaard      Expert 4          3:31:20.65      

10. Steven Beddows   Expert 4          3:36:59.17      


Video Credit: EnduroDKA