With just 50 days until the World Enduro Super Series begins, the series has confirmed the full 2018 schedule.


The new World Enduro Super Series (WESS), designed to find an ultimate all-round enduro champion, will run with seven well-established events in 2018.

Portugal’s Extreme XL Lagares will open this year’s championship with three days of Endurocross, Urban and Hard Enduro racing in May.

From there WESS travels to Austria and the iconic ErzbergRodeo Red Bull Hare Scramble during the first weekend of June.

Competitors then switch from Hard Enduro to Classic Enduro for the prestigious Trèfle Lozérien AMV in France just one week later.


WESS 2018 Trefle Lozerien AMV Enduro21 560


From the idyllic French countryside to the wild, mountainous wilderness of Romania, July’s Red Bull Romaniacs. The halfway point of WESS is the longest event on the calendar with five days of racing at the hugely popular event.


WESS 2018 taddy.blazusiak Romaniacs 2017 3874

Photo Credit: Future7Media


Europe’s largest coal mine in Poland opens its gates to round five when Hard Enduro meets Cross-Country at the Red Bull 111 Megawatt.

Sweden’s Gotland Grand National in October is the penultimate event for WESS. Now in its 35th year, the Cross-Country race is also one of the world’s largest with up to 3000 riders expected to compete.

Set to sign off the inaugural WESS season on a high, the epic Dutch Beach Race Red Bull Knock Out will see 1000 riders go head-to-head on the shoreline of the North Sea in November.


WESS 2018 schedule

Rnd 1. Extreme XL Lagares (Portugal) May 11-13

Rnd 2. ErzbergRodeo (Austria) May 31 – June 3

Rnd 3. Trefle Lozerien AMV (France) June 8-10

Rnd 4. Red Bull Romaniacs (Romania) July 24-28

Rnd 5. Red Bull 111 Megawatt (Poland) September (Date TBC)

Rnd 6. Gotland Grand National (Sweden) October 26/27

Rnd 7. Red Bull Knock Out (The Netherlands) November 10



WESS 2018 jonny.walker Megawatt Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Future7Media


Top riders confirmed

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing have already committed to the World Enduro Super Series.

Competing for top honours in KTM colours are Taddy Blazusiak, Jonny Walker, Cody Webb, Josep Garcia and Nathan Watson.

Husqvarna’s Graham Jarvis, Billy Bolt, Colton Haaker and Alfredo Gomez (currently injured) all have their sights set on victory.

Adding excitement to round one in Portugal, KTM and Husqvarna will have a fight on their hands for the top step of the podium with Wade Young (Sherco), Mario Roman (Sherco), Paul Bolton (KTM) and Travis Teasdale (Beta) all entered. The Gas Gas duo of David Knight and Lars Enockl shouldn't be over-looked either. 


WESS 2018 jonny.walker Megawatt start Enduro21 560

Photo Credit: Future7Media


Media coverage

Red Bull Media House will be the exclusive media partner for the series, capturing video content during each round while also producing a 26-minute show exclusive to RedBull.TV.

Acting as official communication partner, Future7Media will provide all essential media communications and photography.

Winfried Kerschhaggl – WESS Racing Manager: “With just 50 days to go until the World Enduro Super Series begins it’s exciting to see things really taking shape behind the scenes. As we close in on the opening round in May, we’re now just a short step away from establishing a world-class multi-discipline championship.

“Despite receiving a very high-level of interest from many well-established events it has been decided that for 2018 WESS will be a seven-round series. This will enable us to deliver a greater quality of events and allow us to focus more attentively on each round.”


More information: iRideWESS.com



jon.pearson enduro21 april 2017

Jon Pearson
Enduro21 Editor and Bike Tester