Beta’s Nick Burson picked up his first win of the 2016 West Hare Scramble Championship with victory at round three in Hungry Valley Hare Scramble.

Round 3 of the Kenda/SRT West Hare Scramble Championship marked the first trek to Southern California's AMA District 37 for the Hungry Valley Hare Scramble hosted by Prospectors MC. 

Purvines Racing's Nick Burson was the odds on favourite as is almost every time he races in Gorman he takes the win in dominating fashion.

"I've raced and ridden here a lot. Used to test motorcycles and UTV's here a few years back so I've spent lots of time out here." 

nick burson west hare scrambles 1080

With 138 racers on the line, 17 pros and 7 Pro 250's it was going to be a great race to watch to be sure! 

Into the first corner AMRA AA Points Leader Ryan Kudla put his 3 Bro's KTM to the front of the field. He would drop to 6th by the time the left the MX track and after a handful of shuffles and battles he would finish 6th overall, his best WHS finish to date.

Burson took control of the event very quickly and by the end of the first lap pulled 20+ seconds a lap on 2014 Series Champion Factory Husqvarna's Jacob Argubright, who held onto second for the first two laps. He would take a tumble passing a lapped rider cracking his clutch cover dropping to 17th overall by the finish. 

Very uneventfully Burson rode on to take a dominating win by nearly three and a half minutes over the next competitor giving him the points lead for the first time this season. 

west hare scrambles 1080

Team SRT's Cory Graffunder would adopt 2nd after Percision Concepts Justin Morgan was sidelined with electrical issues. He would tow along RPM/KTM's Travis Coy into the battle for the podium. 

Purvines Racings Axel Pearson would get 4th overall followed by SRT's Alex Dorsey who would battle back from 12th to wrap up the top 5.

In the Pro 250 class FMF/Maxxis/RPM backed Dante Oliveira seemed to have it all under control on the first lap but by lap three El Cajon, CA's Dustin Mccarthy got by him but by lap four Oliveira was back in control and on his way to his second class win of the season. McCarthy would stay in 2nd followed by 707 Suspensions Max Parker. 

Photos: Grumpy

Results - West Hare Scrambles Round 3

OVERALL PRO, A, B: 1. Nicholas Burson (BET); 2. Cory Graffunder (KTM); 3. Travis Coy (KTM); 4. Axel Pearson (BET); 5. Alex Dorsey (KTM); 6. Ryan Kudla (KTM); 7. Justin Bonita (YAM); 8. Ryan Smith (YAM); 9. Justin Sanders (YAM); 10. Quinn Cody (); 11. Dante Oliveira (KTM); 12. Dustin Mccarthy (YAM); 13. Morgan Crawford (KTM); 14. Justin Morrow (BET); 15. Max Parker (KTM); 16. Grant Statley (YAM); 17. Jacob Argubright (HUS); 18. Nathan Gibson (HUS); 19. Damon Bush (BET); 20. Jordan Gamboa (HON); 

OVERALL WOMEN, MASTERS, ALL C: 1. Selby Ford (YAM); 2. Sophia Oliveira (KTM); 3. Sam Capt (KAW); 4. Cordis Brooks (KTM); 5. Rafael Delgado (); 6. Sharon Mowell (KTM); 7. Connor Nejedly (KTM); 8. Anna Cody (YAM); 9. Scott Brillhart (KAW); 10. Ryan Littlewood (); 11. Cole Astamendi (); 12. Aj Holt (KTM); 13. Jean Delgado (KTM); 14. Andrew Beaumont (); 15. Michael Oetzell (); 16. Scott Woehler (); 17. Jason Carter (KTM); 18. Denis Contreras (KTM); 19. Christian Ramirez (HON); 20. Gilbert Nevarez (); 

OVERALL PEE WEE: 1. Tyler Kipp (); 2. Elizabeth Edwards (KTM); 3. Aiden Storovich (); 4. Micah Mills (KTM); 5. Lucas Carter (HON); 

OVERALL JUNIORS, GIRLS: 1. Talan Van Valkenburg (KTM); 2. Lane Forbes (KAW); 3. Chase Reid (KTM); 4. Ava Silvestri (KTM); 5. Jett Lessing (); 6. Elijah Mills (KTM); 7. Caleb Mills (KTM); 8. Ruffin Dodson (KTM); 9. Baylee Rhodes (KAW); 10. Macie Kulikov (KTM); 11. Ryder Thomaselli (KTM); 12. Nathan Urbanek (SUZ); 13. Kristine Kipp (); 

OVERALL BIG WHEEL, MINI: 1. Mason Matthies (YAM); 2. Cody Kurtz (KTM); 2. Cody Kurtz (KTM); 3. Logan Mcchesney (YAM); 4. Evan Slosser (HUS); 5. Benjamin Edwards (KTM); 6. Carter Klein (KTM); 7. Seth Sadorra (KTM); 8. Gunnar Carlson (KTM); 9. Mason Klein (); 9. Mason Klein (YAM); 10. Maxwell Shapiro (KTM); 11. Wyatt Kulikov (KTM); 12. Inzo Mitchell (); 

OVERALL ATV: 1. Colt Brinkerhoff (HON); 2. Howard Tande (KTM); 3. Rachel Bosemer (HON); 4. Mark May (HON); 5. John Fasig (YAM); 6. Rick Bosemer (YAM); 7. Mike Noland ();