Kailub Russell has taken victory in the opening round of 2018 Grand National Cross Country (GNCC) Series at Big Buck.

Reigning and five-time champion Russell had to work hard at the opening AMA GNCC to take the win from a determined Thad Duvall.

Steward Baylor was well in the mix and eventually brought it home in third.


XC1 Class

Josh Strang grabbed the holeshot from Ricky Russell but it was Thad Duvall who led the early laps at Big Buck.

Steward Baylor and Trevor Bollinger moved up the leader board by the mid-point of the race, to make a four-way fight with Duvall and an improving Kailub Russell.

Russell started badly in fact down in seventh after lap one but worked hard to move up the order and take the lead on lap four.

The top three battled hard during the last two laps with Duvall and Russell in close company during the final lap. They eventually crossed the line inches apart.


Kailub Russell 2018 GNCC Rnd1 Enduro 560

Photo Credit: Ken Hill


XC2 Class

Sam Evans took the XC2 Holeshot but it wasn’t long before Josh Toth took over the lead, followed by Ben Kelley and Pascal Rauchenecker making his GNCC debut for Husqvarna, close behind.

And that’s how the top three in remained in XC2 would stay until the chequered flag with all three pushing hard.


XC3 125 Pro-Am class

The smaller capcity Pro-Am class was filled with talented riders from the past and present. Hunter Riemer jumped off the line first earning the Holeshot award. Alex Teagarden claimed the first win of the season though with Cody Barnes in second and Dustin Simpson third.

Re-visit the whole race live feed at racertv.com


XC1 Open Pro Event Results:

  1. Kailub Russell (KTM)
  2. Thad Duvall (HQV)
  3. Steward Baylor Jr (KTM)
  4. Trevor Bollinger (HON)
  5. Josh Strang (HQV)
  6. Layne Michael (HQV)
  7. Ricky Russell (YAM)
  8. Cory Buttrick (HQV)
  9. Jordan Ashburn (BET)
  10. Grant Baylor (KTM)


XC2 250 Pro Event Results:

  1. Josh Toth (KTM)
  2. Ben Kelley (KTM)
  3. Pascal Rauchenecker (HQV)
  4. Austin Lee (HON)
  5. Craig Delong (HQV)
  6. Evan Smith (HQV)
  7. Jonathan Johnson (YAM)
  8. Trevor Barrett (YAM)
  9. Liam Draper (HQV)
  10. Cole Mattison (YAM)


jon.pearson enduro21 april 2017

Jon Pearson
Enduro21 Editor and Bike Tester