The 2023 FIM Enduro Vintage Trophy gets under way this week in La Cerdanya, Spanish Pyrenees with the opening day’s action being the traditional acceleration test runs – Bert von Zitzewitz blitzes the fastest time.

Near to 250 riders fired their vintage enduro bikes into life on day one of the 2023 FIM Enduro Vintage Trophy (EVT) in the Catalonian Pyrenees with the opening acceleration test officially starting the four-day event. Following on from the competition’s opening ceremony on Tuesday evening, today riders got down to business by completing a short 26-kilometre liaison before squeezing every bit of power out of their machines during the acceleration test.

Topping the provisional overall individual classification with the fastest time of the day was German rider Bert von Zitzewitz in a time of 46:28 seconds. Bert, together with Jean Yves Raudrant, were the only two riders to record times under 47 seconds. Both riders were entered into the C3 category for 250cc machinery manufactured up to 1983.

The third fastest time came from Josep Carrion on his over 125cc Open X2 class machine, ahead of Italian Andrea Belotti, also in the X2 category, with Alex Llobet and Patrice Mourges rounding out the top six fastest times. Completing today’s top ten were Jens Oestreich, Santiago Lopex, Steffan Hau, and Michele Mauro.

Top 40 results from acceleration tests:


Full results (and live timing):

Day two of the 2023 FIM Enduro Vintage Trophy will see competitors face two laps of a 63-kilometre course that features both an enduro test and cross test. Working its way through spectacular countryside, all riders will enjoy both the winding Spanish trails and incredible scenery as they rise to close to two thousand meters above sea level.  

2023 EVT Schedule:

17/10 (Tuesday) – Administrative/Technical Control and Opening Ceremony

18/10 (Wednesday) – 1 lap of 26km and Acceleration Test

19/10 (Thursday) – 2 laps of 63 km (2 special tests per lap)

20/10 (Friday) – 2 laps of 48.5 km (2 special tests per lap)

21/10 (Saturday) – Final MX (Sant Marc) and Prize Giving Ceremony


Photo Credit: Future7Media | Nicki Martinez