In what were horrendous conditions for the final two days of the 2017 French Enduro Championship, the remaining class titles were decided as riders fought through mud and rain in the Auvergne region of central France.

E1 class

Despite being excluded for a technical infringement on day one, Jérémy Tarroux (Sherco) was awarded the E1 championship title due to rival Julien Gauthier placing second. The win on day one went to Jérémy Carpentier (Yamaha), his first in the Elite class. With Tarroux in second, the third place on the podium went to Honda’s Luc Breban, the first of his career.

On day two, Carpentier and Tarroux took things down right to the wire, with Tarroux just edging ahead on the final lap. Julien Gauthier took third, securing his runner-up position in the championship.

E1 Final Championship Standings

  1. Jérémy Tarroux - 177 Pts
  2. Julien Gauthier - 152 Pts 
  3. Jérémy Carpentier - 136 Pts


larrieu rain

E2 class

Loïc Larrieu won both days at the final round to secure himself the E2 class title for 2017. The Southern Frenchman has won every single day of the E2 class competition this year and had no intention of slowing up for the final round.

Jérémy Joly took second place on both days to secure his runner-up position in the standings.

On day one it was Manu Albepart who took third place, but he was just pipped to that spot on day two by the brave Pierre Vissac. Riding injured Vissac put in a great performance in the tough conditions to claim the final podium position.

E2 Final Championship Standings

  1. Loïc Larrieu - 200 Pts
  2. Jérémy Joly - 160 Pts
  3. Emmanuel Albepart - 138 Pts


nambotin trophy

E3 class

Despite his broken hand, Christophe Nambotin (KTM) did exactly what he needed to and won both days in Ambert. In difficult conditions on day two Nambotin even posted the fastest time on scratch, and put on a great show for the spectators braving the conditions.

Romain Dumontier(Yamaha) also rode very well securing his runner-up position in the standings with his second place on day one.

Third place went to Anthony Geslin (Beta) on day one, with him going one better on day two to finish second - these points awarded Geslin with third in the E3 championship.

E3 Final Championship Standings

  1. Christophe Nambotin - 182 Pts
  2. Romain Dumontier - 168 Pts
  3. Anthony Geslin - 139 Pts



Junior class

Thomas Dubost took the title of Junior Champion on day one, despite the KTM rider not finishing on the podium. His consistency throughout the season paid off and the young rider even went on to win day two to honour his status as Junior Champion.

Valérian Debaud won day one, the TM rider really coming into form at the end of the season. Second place went to Alexis Baud with Thibaut Passet in third.

With Dubost the victor on day two, yesterday’s winner, Valérian Debaud could only manage second. The podium was completed by Sherco’s David Abgrall.

Junior Class Final Championship Standings

  1. Valérian Debaud - 160 Pts
  2. Alexis Beaud - 119 Pts
  3. Thibaut Passet - 115 Pts


womens podium

Women’s class

It was Australian, Jess Gardiner who put in a superb performance to not only win both days of the final round but also claim the women’s championship.

Gardiner, injured at the ISDE with a broken finger, then again at the previous French round with a broken scapula, clenched her teeth and rode superbly to claim the French title.

Despite a couple of worrying crashes in the arduous conditions Gardiner eventually won the Women’s Championship by 11 points from Samantha Ticket (Yamaha). Juliette Berrez (Yamaha) placed third.


Women's Final Championship Standings

  1. Jessica Gardiner - 180 Pts
  2. Justine Martel - 169 Pts
  3. Samantha Tichet - 152 Pts